Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1930 To 2023 And Australia Wins 2023 World Cup

The Cricket World Cup Winners List which began in 1975, has seen a rich history of cricketing excellence. Over the years, various teams have claimed the prestigious title, with Australia emerging as the most recent champion in 2023 after defeating India in the final match. This tournament has witnessed memorable moments and legendary performances, solidifying its status as one of the most prestigious events in international cricket.

Lucknow University UG Admit Card 

Cricket World Cup Winners List 2023

The ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 took place in India from October 5th to November 19th, with the final match featuring India against Australia. Australia emerged victorious, winning the final by 6 wickets against India. This marked the 13th edition of the prestigious tournament and Australia stands as the most successful country with 6 World Cup victories. In 2007, Australia achieved a historic milestone by becoming the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments. India and West Indies are the only two countries to have won the World Cup twice each. India clinched the title in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies claimed victory in 1975 and 1979. The most recent 50-over World Cup, held in 2019, was won by England. This rich history of cricketing excellence has solidified the World Cup as a pinnacle event in One Day Cricket.

Cricket World Cup Winners List 2023

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8The Match tied after regular play and super over and 
England won on a boundary count
2023IndiaAustralia India240Australia won by 6 wickets

Australia Wins Cricket World Cup 2023

In the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, the final showdown took place on November 19, 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India. It was a clash between the two best teams of the tournament, with Australia emerging as the champions by defeating India in a thrilling final match. India batted first and posted a total of 240 runs, but Australia successfully chased the target in 43 overs with the loss of 4 wickets. Australian opener Travis Head was the hero of the final, earning the Man of the Match title for his outstanding performance. He scored 137 runs in 120 balls, smashing 15 fours and 4 sixes.

Notably, India’s batters collectively scored the most runs in the tournament, while India’s pacer Mohammed Shami claimed the highest number of wickets in the ICC World Cup 2023, securing 24 wickets in 7 matches.

In the semifinals, India faced New Zealand in Mumbai on November 15, 2023, and secured a convincing victory by 70 runs. The second semifinal featured Australia against South Africa on November 16 in Kolkata, where Australia emerged victorious by 3 wickets. These thrilling matches added to the excitement of the tournament, culminating in Australia’s triumph as the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 winners.

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia7621987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 20231975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India3221983, 20112003, 2023
New Zealand2022015, 2019
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983

Leave a Comment